Agricultural advisory cycle

What's new on agricultural advisory services in West and Central Africa?

IR's latest news on agricultural consulting

Agricultural sectors and agro-ecological transition in West Africa: Focus on the rice sector

Rice is the second most consumed cereal in West Africa, after maize. However, it is now facing sustainability and competitiveness challenges due to the continuous decline in soil fertility and changes in world markets.

The conference organized by #AFD and #CIRAD on the sidelines of the International Agricultural Show in Paris, through several interventions, allowed to discuss these major development issues in the face of the quest for food sovereignty in West Africa. On this occasion, Christophe RIGOURD, consultant associated with #IRAM presented the results of the work of the #ACOTAF and #COSTEA projects on the issues of #agro-ecological transition and #agricultural consulting in favor of the agro-ecological transition in agricultural sectors.

In order to make this presentation, which was the subject of an initial video, more widely available and accessible, Inter-réseaux has undertaken to sequence it into four short videos according to the various salient points addressed by Christophe Rigourd.

Webinars on agricultural advisory services and agroecological transitions in West Africa.

Within the framework of the ACOTAF project, Inter-réseaux co-organized with the other members of the project implementation consortium (CIRAD, IRAM, Rescar-AOC) a series of webinars to present the results of studies conducted in 5 West African countries (Burkina Faso, Benin, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea Conakry, Niger) on the state of play of taking into account agro-ecological transitions in the provision of agricultural advisory services.

The first two webinars, in French (November 29, 2022) and English (January 17, 2023) respectively, presented the results of the above-mentioned studies. The third webinar (January 18, 2023) was an opportunity to identify different strategic levers to support a better consideration of agroecological transitions in agricultural advisory services.  

Agricultural model and agricultural advisory model in West Africa

In its magazine Grain de sel n°82-83, Inter-réseaux has devoted an article to the work on agricultural advisory services in West Africa, carried out within the framework of the ACOTAF project. You will find answers to various questions such as: what is the status of agroecology in West Africa? what are the needs for agroecological transitions? what is the status of agricultural advisory services and how do they accompany these transitions?

Does farm consulting still make sense today?

In its 77th issue of Grain de sel , devoted entirely to farm advisory services, Inter-réseaux brings together multiple points of view and knowledge, and reminds us that farm advisory services make sense for family farms, by illustrating the multiple meanings of advisory services.

"On the side of others

14th GFRAS Annual Meeting

The 14th Annual Conference of the Global Forum for Rural Advisory Services (GFRAS) will be held October 17-19, 2023 in Denver, Colorado, USA.

Connecting farmers to industrial buyers

The digital platform AgroSfer provides a comprehensive response for better collaboration between small farmer cooperatives and agribusiness manufacturers. Developed in Benin, Agrosfer allows farmers to sell their products to industrial buyers looking for raw materials.

Inter-réseaux and the Agricultural Council

A story that lasts since 1996...

The theme of agricultural advice has been on the agenda ofinter-réseaux since its creation in 1996. With different members of the network, IR has participated in several works of animation of reflections and production of documents on this theme: The number 20 of the review Grain de sel which devoted its main file to the "Advice to the service of the farms"; the workshops on the advice to the family farm of Bohicon ( Bohicon I and Bohicon II ); the Pole CEF; the debates within the framework of the initiative of Neuchâtel which contributed later to the birth of GFRAS; etc.

In 2017, at the initiative of the Institut de recherches et d'applications des méthodes de développement (Iram), Inter-réseaux formed a group bringing together Iram, CIRAD, and CER France. They then began a dialogue with the French Development Agency (AFD) to conduct a reflection on consulting in order to facilitate the implementation of an "agricultural consulting" strategy at AFD. This work, which began at the end of 2017, is currently ongoing and already directly involves six members ofInter-réseaux (Afdi, AVI, AVSF, Corade, Fert and Iram) alongside CIRAD and CER France.

Various documents emerged from this working group, including 11 case studies reported by different organizations; a summary of the policy brief on agricultural advisory services; the note published by the AFD and its English version; the Thematic Watch Bulletin on the new challenges of agricultural advisory services in Africa; Grain de sel No. 77, entitled " Does agricultural advisory services still make sense today?

This work resulted in a summary bulletin produced by a working group led by Inter-réseaux Développement Rural and composed of Iram, CIRAD and Ambre Conseil/CERFRANCE, among others. The English version of the bulletin is available here.

Members rallying for the Farm Council

AVSF

Agronomes et Vétérinaires Sans Frontières is an international solidarity association recognized as being of public utility, which has been working since 1977 to support peasant agriculture. It puts the skills of professionals in agriculture, animal husbandry and animal health at the service of peasant communities threatened by exclusion and poverty.

IRAM

The Institut de Recherches et d'Applications des Méthodes de Développement (Iram) has been involved in international cooperation since 1957. Within the framework of research and development projects or programs initiated by Iram, it provides support to organizations in the South, in particular microfinance institutions, professional agricultural organizations, civil society organizations and local authorities.

AVI

AVI is an organization of five members, operating in four countries in West Africa: AcSSA - Afrique Verte Niger; AMASSA - Afrique Verte Mali; APROSSA - Afrique Verte Burkina Faso; AGUISSA - Afrique Verte Guinea and Afrique Verte in France. AVI supports farmers' organizations in West Africa so that they can ensure their food security, defend their food sovereignty and face the consequences of climate change.

FERT

Fert is an agri-agency under French law and international cooperation for agricultural development. It assists farmers in developing and emerging countries in the creation of organizations (producer groups, cooperatives, agricultural credit unions, training centers, etc.) enabling them to find sustainable solutions to the problems they encounter in the exercise of their profession and the defense of their interests.

AFDI

Association of international solidarity, AFDI supports family farming, accompanies farmers' organizations in developing countries and raises awareness of the French agricultural world to international development.

Corade

The CORADE Agency (Consulting, Research-Action and Development Expertise) is a consulting firm under Burkinabe law, created in 2005 by African executives wishing to federate their efforts in the service of sustainable development in Africa. Its mission is to develop and provide innovative approaches and tools of advice and training that strengthen the autonomy and responsibility of actors in taking control of their destiny.

 

Projects that are being implemented...

These are projects that are fully supported by Inter-réseaux or implemented in collaboration with its members or other partners...

ACOTAF

Presentation

ACOTAF, farm advisory services for agro-ecological transitions, is a project funded by the French Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs (MEAE), and implemented by the consortium Inter-réseaux Développement rural, IRAM, Rescar- AOC and CIRAD.

Planned for a period of 3 years (2020-2023), the specific objective of this project is to strengthen knowledge management and the capacities of advisory actors for a renewal of agricultural advice that promotes agro-ecological transitions in Sub-Saharan Africa.

To this end, several actions have been initiated to produce and share knowledge on agricultural advisory services in five West African countries (Burkina Faso, Benin, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea Conakry and Niger) and to strengthen the capacities of stakeholders by supporting initiatives to renew public policies in relation to agricultural advisory services in favor of agroecological transitions.

Activities in progress or completed

  • 3 webinars to present the results of the country studies;

Knowledge management on agricultural advisory services in West and Central Africa: focus on three research/reflection axes.

The animation of the consulting cycle also includes information and thematic monitoring, as well as collective work. At this level, it focuses on three main areas of research and reflection, the results of which are shared as they become available.

Agricultural advice for agro-ecological transitions 

Agricultural advice and structuring of sectors

Major players in agricultural consulting in West and Central Africa 

Research (with children)

Headings

Headings
  • Resources (14176)
  • Rural Development Agenda (1077)
  • News (369)
  • Recruitments (59)

Themes

Themes

Geographic areas

Geographic areas
  • West Africa (1261)
  • Burkina Faso (1169)
  • Senegal (1075)
  • Niger (775)
  • Mali (628)
  • Africa (570)
  • Benin (394)
  • Sahel (387)
  • Ivory Coast (347)
  • Cameroon (344)

Language

Language
  • French (16844)
  • English (1265)

Author

Author

Date

Date

Type of document

Type of document
  • Study, report (1411)
  • Analysis, synthesis (1188)
  • Journal - Newsletter (1155)
  • Conference, symposium, seminar (626)
  • Videos (595)
  • Article (571)
  • Capitalization document (394)
  • Brief (375)
  • Technical guide - Training materials (361)
  • Maintenance (258)

Cycle conseil agricole

Quoi de neuf sur le conseil agricole en Afrique de l’Ouest et du Centre ?

Les dernières actualités de IR sur le conseil agricole

Filières agricoles et transition agroécologique en Afrique de l’Ouest : Focus sur la filière Riz

Le riz est la deuxième céréale la plus consommée en Afrique de l’Ouest, après le maïs. Elle est cependant aujourd’hui confrontée à des enjeux de durabilité et de compétitivité au regard de la baisse continuelle de la fertilité des sols et de l’évolution des marchés mondiaux.

La conférence organisée par l’#AFD et le #CIRAD en marge du Salon International de l’Agriculture à Paris à travers plusieurs interventions, a permis de discuter de ces grands enjeux de développement face à la quête de la souveraineté alimentaire en Afrique de l’Ouest. A cette occasion, Christophe RIGOURD, consultant associé à l’#IRAM a présenté les résultats des travaux des projets #ACOTAF et #COSTEA sur les questions de #transition agroécologique et de #conseil agricole en faveur de la transition agroécologique dans les filières agricoles.

Dans le souci de diffuser largement cette présentation qui a fait l’objet d’une vidéo initiale, et de la rendre plus accessible, Inter-réseaux a entrepris de la séquencer en quatre petites vidéos en fonction des différents points saillants abordés par Christophe Rigourd.

Webinaires sur le conseil agricole et les transitions agroécologiques en Afrique de l’Ouest.

Dans le cadre du projet ACOTAF, Inter-réseaux a co-organisé avec les autres membres du consortium de mise en œuvre du projet (Cirad, IRAM, Rescar-AOC) une série de webinaires pour présenter les résultats des études conduites dans 5 pays de l’Afrique de l’Ouest (Burkina Faso, Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinée Conakry, Niger) sur l’état des lieux de la prise en compte des transitions agroécologiques dans la fournitures des services de conseil agricole.

Les deux premiers Webinaires respectivement francophone (29 novembre 2022) et anglophone (17 janvier 2023) ont permis de présenter les résultats des études susmentionnées. Le troisième webinaire (18 janvier 2023) a été l’occasion d’identifier différents leviers stratégiques pour accompagner une meilleure prise en compte des transitions agroécologiques dans les services de conseil agricole.  

Modèle agricole et modèle de conseil agricole en Afrique de l’Ouest

Dans sa revue Grain de sel n°82-83,  Inter-réseaux a consacré un article valorisant les travaux sur le conseil agricole en Afrique de l’ouest, menés dans le cadre du projet ACOTAF. Vous y trouverez des réponses à différentes questions telles que : où en est l’agroécologie en Afrique de l’Ouest ? quels sont les besoins de transitions agroécologiques ? où en est le conseil agricole et comment accompagne-t-il ces transitions ?

Le conseil agricole a-t-il encore du sens aujourd’hui ?

Dans son 77ième numéro de la revue Grain de sel (dont la version anglaise), consacré entièrement au conseil agricole, Inter-réseaux confronte de multiples points de vue et connaissances, et rappelle  que le conseil agricole a du sens pour les exploitations familiales, en illustrant la pluralité de sens du conseil.

« Du côtés des autres »

14th GFRAS Annual Meeting

La 14ieme conférence annuelle du Global Forum for Rural Advisory Services (GFRAS) se tiendra du 17 au 19 octobre 2023 à Denver, dans le Colorado (USA).

Connecter les agriculteurs aux acheteurs industriels

La plateforme numérique AgroSfer apporte une réponse complète pour une meilleure collaboration entre les coopératives de petits agriculteurs et les industriels du secteur agroalimentaire. Développée au Bénin, Agrosfer permet aux agriculteurs de vendre leurs productions à des acheteurs industriels à la quête de matières premières.

Inter-réseaux et le Conseil agricole

Une histoire qui dure depuis 1996…

La thématique du conseil agricole a été à l’ordre du jour des travaux d’inter-réseaux depuis sa création en 1996. Avec différents membres du réseaux, IR a participé à plusieurs travaux d’animation de réflexions et de production de documents sur cette thématique : Le numéro 20 de la revue Grain de sel qui consacrait son dossier principal au «Conseil au service des exploitations agricoles» ; les ateliers sur le conseil à l’exploitation familiale de Bohicon ( Bohicon I et Bohicon II ; le Pôle CEF ; les débats dans le cadre de l’initiative de Neuchâtel qui  ont contribué plus tard à la naissance du GFRAS ; etc.

En 2017, à l’initiative de l’Institut de recherches et d’applications des méthodes de développement (Iram), Inter-réseaux a constitué un groupe rassemblant Iram, Cirad, et CER France. Ils ont alors entamé un dialogue avec l’Agence française de développement (AFD) pour mener un travail de réflexion sur le conseil afin de faciliter la mise en place d’une stratégie « conseil agricole » à l’AFD. Ce travail entamé fin 2017 se poursuit actuellement et mobilise directement déjà six membres d’Inter-réseaux (AfdiAVIAVSFCoradeFert et l’Iram) au côté du Cirad et de CER France.

Divers documents ont émergé de ce groupe de travail à savoir 11 études de cas relatées par différentes organisations ; un résumé de la note d’orientation sur le conseil agricole ; la note éditée par l’AFD et sa version anglaise ; le Bulletin de veille thématique sur les nouveaux enjeux du conseil agricole en Afrique ; le Grain de sel n°77 intitulé  Le conseil agricole a-t-il encore un sens aujourd’hui ?  et sa version anglaise qui se trouve ici.

Ces différents travaux ont donné suite à un bulletin de synthèse produit par un groupe de travail animé par Inter-réseaux Développement Rural et composé entre autres de l’Iram, du Cirad et d’Ambre Conseil/CERFRANCE. La version anglaise du bulletin est disponible ici.

Des membres qui se mobilisent en faveur du Conseil agricole

AVSF

Agronomes et Vétérinaires Sans Frontières est une association de solidarité internationale reconnue d’utilité publique, qui agit depuis 1977 pour soutenir l’agriculture paysanne. Elle met au service des communautés paysannes menacées par l’exclusion et la pauvreté, les compétences de professionnels de l’agriculture, de l’élevage et de la santé animale.

IRAM

L’Institut de Recherches et d’Applications des Méthodes de développement (Iram) intervient depuis 1957 dans le champ de la coopération internationale. Dans le cadre de projets ou de programmes de recherche-développement à son initiative, l’Iram intervient en appui auprès d’organisations du Sud et en particulier des institutions de microfinance, des organisations professionnelles agricoles, des organisations de la société civile ou encore des collectivités locales.

AVI

AVI est une organisation qui regroupe cinq membres, intervenant dans quatre pays en Afrique de l’Ouest : AcSSA – Afrique Verte Niger ; AMASSA – Afrique Verte Mali ; APROSSA – Afrique Verte Burkina Faso ; AGUISSA – Afrique Verte Guinée et Afrique Verte en France.  AVI accompagne les organisations de productrices et de producteurs agricoles en Afrique de l’Ouest pour qu’elles puissent assurer leur sécurité alimentaire, défendre leur souveraineté alimentaire et faire face aux conséquences du changement climatique.

FERT

Fert est une agri-agence de droit français et de coopération internationale pour le développement agricole. Elle accompagne les agriculteurs des pays en développement et émergents dans la création d’organisations (groupements de producteurs, coopératives, caisses de crédit agricole, centres de formation …) leur permettant d’apporter des solutions durables aux problèmes qu’ils rencontrent dans l’exercice de leur métier et la défense de leurs intérêts.

AFDI

Association de solidarité internationale, Afdi soutient les agricultures familiales, accompagne des organisations paysannes des pays en développement et sensibilise le monde agricole français au développement international.

Corade

L’Agence CORADE (Conseils, Recherche-Action et Développement d’Expertise) est un bureau d’études de droit burkinabé, crée en 2005 par des cadres africains désireux de fédérer leurs efforts au service du développement durable en Afrique. Elle a pour mission de développer et fournir des approches et outils innovants de conseils et formation qui renforcent l’autonomie et la responsabilité des acteurs dans la prise en main de leur destinée.

 

Des projets qui se mettent en œuvre…

Il s’agit ici de projets portés intégralement par Inter-réseaux ou mis en œuvre en collaboration avec ses membres ou autres partenaires…

ACOTAF

Présentation

ACOTAF, conseil agricole en faveur des transitions agroécologique est un projet financé par le Ministère français de l’Europe et des Affaires Étrangères (MEAE), et mis en œuvre par le consortium Inter-réseaux Développement rural, IRAM, Rescar- AOC et le Cirad.

Prévu pour une période de 3 ans (2020-2023), ce projet a pour objectif spécifique de renforcer la gestion des connaissances et les capacités des acteurs du conseil pour un renouvellement du conseil agricole qui favorise les transitions agroécologiques en Afrique Sub-saharienne.

Pour se faire, plusieurs actions ont été initiées pour produire et partager des connaissances sur le conseil agricole dans cinq pays de l’Afrique de l’Ouest (Burkina Faso, Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinée Conakry et Niger) et renforcer les capacités des acteurs en soutenant des initiatives de renouvellement des politiques publiques en lien avec un conseil agricole en faveur des transitions agroécologiques.

Activités en cours ou achevées

  • 3 webinaires de présentation des résultats des études pays ;

Gestion de connaissance sur le conseil agricole en Afrique de l'Ouest et du Centre: focus sur trois axes de recherche/réflexion.

L’animation du cycle conseil c’est aussi de la veille informationnelle et thématique, ainsi que des travaux collectifs. A ce niveau, elle se focalise sur trois principaux axes de recherche et de reflexion dont les les résultats sont partagés au fur et à mesure.

Conseil agricole en faveur des transitions agroécologiques 

Conseil agricole et structuration des filières

Acteurs majeurs du conseil agricole en Afrique de l’Ouest et du Centre 

Recherche (avec enfants)

Rubriques

Rubriques
  • Ressources (14293)
  • Agenda du développement rural (1100)
  • Actualités (369)
  • Recrutements (59)

Thématiques

Thématiques

Zones géographiques

Zones géographiques
  • Afrique de l’Ouest (1288)
  • Burkina Faso (1196)
  • Sénégal (1093)
  • Niger (793)
  • Mali (641)
  • Afrique (599)
  • Bénin (405)
  • Sahel (393)
  • Côte d’Ivoire (359)
  • Cameroun (350)

Langue

Langue
  • Français (16983)
  • Anglais (1302)

Auteur

Auteur

Date

Date

Type de document

Type de document
  • Etude, rapport (1430)
  • Analyse, synthèse (1191)
  • Revue - Bulletin (1157)
  • Conférence, colloque, séminaire (634)
  • Vidéos (605)
  • Article (595)
  • Document de capitalisation (406)
  • Brève (375)
  • Guide technique - Supports de formation (362)
  • Entretien (258)