Cycle on pastoralism

Since 2015, Inter-réseaux has chosen to intensify its work and reflections on pastoralism, a key theme for members and more globally crucial for West Africa in the years to come.

The challenges of pastoralism in the Sahel have suddenly come back on the agenda with the recent events related to terrorist movements in Mali, Niger, Nigeria and Mauritania, and their shock waves in other countries (Burkina Faso, Chad). The importance of securing mobility, a theme dear to the livestock breeders' organizations, is now better taken into account by governments (see the Ndjamena Declaration) and by the international community (see the AGIR Sahel Resilience Initiative; World Bank PRAPS Initiative, etc.).

Despite these recent developments, some observers and decision-makers speak of the "programmed disappearance of pastoralism". The pressures and threats that affect this mode of production (and this culture) are indeed increasingly strong. While some believe that pastoralism is a viable and indispensable mode of production in the Sahel for social, environmental, geopolitical and economic reasons, other actors believe that it must simply give way to sedentary and more intensive modes of production. All actors agree that this mode of production is in any case in a phase of change, that adaptations are inevitable (and already underway), and that they must be supported by satisfactory policies.

In summary and in a schematic way, the question that arises is that of the future of pastoralism. Faced with such challenges, the members ofInter-réseaux have decided to deepen their collective work and reflections on this theme.

We invite you to read in this section the progress and results of this collective reflection. If you have resources to send us, experiences to share or a contribution to submit on this topic, please do not hesitate to contact us!

See below for a selection of resources relevant to the Pastoralism Reflection Cycle.

Cycle sur le pastoralisme
Research (with children)

Headings

Headings
  • Resources (14186)
  • Rural Development Agenda (1080)
  • News (369)
  • Recruitments (59)

Themes

Themes

Geographic areas

Geographic areas
  • West Africa (1264)
  • Burkina Faso (1172)
  • Senegal (1076)
  • Niger (778)
  • Mali (631)
  • Africa (570)
  • Benin (395)
  • Sahel (388)
  • Ivory Coast (348)
  • Cameroon (344)

Language

Language
  • French (16851)
  • English (1273)

Author

Author

Date

Date

Type of document

Type of document
  • Study, report (1415)
  • Analysis, synthesis (1188)
  • Journal - Newsletter (1155)
  • Conference, symposium, seminar (626)
  • Videos (595)
  • Article (573)
  • Capitalization document (394)
  • Brief (375)
  • Technical guide - Training materials (361)
  • Maintenance (258)
18055 Articles

Cycle sur le pastoralisme

Depuis 2015, Inter-réseaux a choisi d’intensifier ses travaux et réflexions sur le pastoralisme, une thématique clé pour les membres et plus globalement cruciale pour l’Afrique de l’Ouest dans les années à venir.

Les enjeux du pastoralisme dans le Sahel sont revenus brutalement à l’ordre du jour avec les évènements récents liés aux mouvements terroristes au Mali, au Niger, au Nigeria et en Mauritanie, et leurs ondes de choc dans les autres pays (Burkina Faso, Tchad). L’importance de la sécurisation de la mobilité, thème cher aux organisations d’éleveurs, est désormais mieux pris en charge par les gouvernements (Cf. Déclaration de Ndjamena) et par la communauté internationale (Cf. initiative AGIR Résilience Sahel ; Initiative PRAPS Banque mondiale, etc.).

Malgré ces évolutions récentes, certains observateurs ou décideurs parlent de « disparition programmée du pastoralisme ». Les pressions et menaces qui affectent ce mode de production (et cette culture) sont en effet de plus en plus fortes. Si certains pensent que le pastoralisme est un mode de production viable et indispensable au Sahel pour des raisons sociales, environnementales, géopolitiques et économiques, d’autres acteurs pensent au contraire qu’il doit tout simplement laisser place à des modes de production sédentaires et plus intensifs. L’ensemble des acteurs s’accordent sur le fait que ce mode de production est en tous cas en phase de mutation, que des adaptations sont inévitablement à apporter (et déjà en cours), et qu’il faut les accompagner par des politiques satisfaisantes.

En résumé et de manière schématique la question qui se pose est celle de l’avenir du pastoralisme. Face à de tels enjeux, les membres d’Inter-réseaux ont décidé d’approfondir leurs travaux et réflexions collectifs sur cette thématique.

Nous vous invitons à lire dans cette rubrique les avancées et les résultats de cette réflexion collective. Si vous avez des ressources à nous envoyer, des expériences à nous faire partager ou une contribution à nous soumettre sur cette thématique, n’hésitez surtout pas à nous contacter !

Voir ci-dessous notre sélection de quelques ressources pertinentes pour le cycle de réflexion sur le pastoralisme.

Cycle sur le pastoralisme
Recherche (avec enfants)

Rubriques

Rubriques
  • Ressources (12508)
  • Agenda du développement rural (740)
  • Actualités (332)

Thématiques

Thématiques
  • APD (1)

Zones géographiques

Zones géographiques
  • Burkina Faso (952)
  • Sénégal (907)
  • Afrique de l’Ouest (884)
  • Niger (641)
  • Mali (535)
  • Bénin (326)
  • Cameroun (283)
  • Sahel (277)
  • Côte d’Ivoire (271)
  • Madagascar (251)

Langue

Langue
  • Français (14808)
  • Anglais (951)

Auteur

Auteur

Date

Date

Type de document

Type de document
  • Revue - Bulletin (1134)
  • Etude, rapport (1104)
  • Analyse, synthèse (1048)
  • Conférence, colloque, séminaire (504)
  • Vidéos (433)
  • Brève (360)
  • Document de capitalisation (325)
  • Guide technique - Supports de formation (296)
  • Entretien (196)
  • Déclaration - communiqué (143)